About the Office of Equal Opportunity

Black and white photo of three men signing paper

Wayne State University has demonstrated a long history of taking positive action to overcome the effects of systemic discrimination. Any other higher educational institution does not exceed the commitment by the University Board of Governors and administration to the process of change and achievement of equal opportunity.

Wayne State University established policy directives with respect to non-discrimination in employment among the first actions of its first Board in June of 1934. In 1959, the Board of Governors, instituted after Wayne became a state university adopted the "Non-Discrimination Policy" as a statute of Wayne State University.

On August 15, 1963, Wayne State University was the first University in the United States to become a member of the President of the United States Plan for Progress program. The program was a "voluntary" effort for planned progress in implementing polices of non-discrimination in employment. An agreement was signed with the Vice President Lyndon B. Johnson on behalf of the President's Committee on Equal Employment Opportunity on that date.

In 1971, Wayne State University consolidated policy making into one coordinated administrative unit called the Office of Equal Opportunity. The office became responsible for administering the University's non-discrimination policies in regard to hiring, upgrading, and establishing equitable salaries for University personnel, as well as non-discrimination in purchase of equipment, materials and services and in contractual services. Since then, affirmative action has become an integral part of the University's involvement and commitment to the fights of the individual and fair play in the workplace.

Since that time, the Office of Equal Opportunity has expanded its mission to include training and professional development, compliance and monitoring for Americans with Disabilities Act, the Wayne State University Supplier Diversity Program, Sexual Harassment, Anti-Discrimination, and the Title IX Gender Equity Program.